The Pokémon Company will be delivering updates about the Pokémon Sword and Shield Expansion Pass on September 29 at 13:00 UTC.

Global times for the updates are 06:00 PT, 09:00 ET, 14:00 BST, 15:00 CET, and 22:00 and will our over on the official Pokémon YouTube Channel!

A special music video for the song “GOTCHA!” performed by the Japanese alt. rock group Bump of Chicken will also be released for the first time! 

This special video presentation will discuss some of the exciting new features you’ll find in The Crown Tundra with select details added below…


The Crown Tundra

The second area unlocked by your Expansion Pass is the snow-swept realm of the Crown Tundra. See for yourself the beautiful scenery of this shining, silvery landscape! In this frigid area, with its jagged winter mountains, people live in small communities where they support and rely on one another.

You’ll be tasked with investigating the reaches of this frozen land. And remember the Pokémon Dens that you’ve only been able to glimpse during Max Raid Battles? Well, now you’ll be able to explore their depths! What’s more, it seems a number of previously unseen Legendary Pokémon make the Crown Tundra their home.


Prepared for adventure!

Don this exploration gear in The Crown Tundra to prepare yourself for researching the many intriguing destinations the tundra holds. You might find a strange temple where you least expect it or a mysterious giant tree growing in a place it doesn’t seem to belong. Be prepared for unexpected discoveries!


Peony

A man named Peony will appoint you as the leader of his exploration team in the Crown Tundra. Peony has brought his daughter along on an adventure to find the truth behind tales of Legendary Pokémon in the area. Listening isn’t his strongest suit, and his bold behaviour draws plenty of attention. But he has a kind side and plenty of affection for his daughter.


Articuno, Zapdos, and Moltres?!

Legendary Pokémon bearing strong resemblances to Articuno, Zapdos, and Moltres have been spotted in the Crown Tundra. These Pokémon seem to bear Ice-type, Electric-type, and Fire-type characteristics, respectively, and so were previously thought to be the same as the Articuno, Zapdos, and Moltres seen in other regions. But recently, data gathered from reported sightings and other sources about the Pokémon have bolstered the theory that they are, in fact, distinct variants.

Galarian Articuno

Once every several decades, this migratory Pokémon appears in the Crown Tundra. For a long time, it was thought to be the same Legendary Pokémon as the Articuno previously discovered in other regions. Though cold and callous in personality, it moves in a highly refined manner. It keeps itself airborne through constant use of its psychic powers, almost never flapping its wings.

Galarian Zapdos

Once every several decades, this migratory Pokémon appears in the Crown Tundra. For a long time, it was thought to be the same Legendary Pokémon as the Zapdos previously discovered in other regions. This belligerent, battle-hungry Pokémon seems unable to resist challenging Pokémon it senses may be stronger than itself.

Galarian Moltres

Once every several decades, this migratory Pokémon appears in the Crown Tundra. For a long time, it was thought to be the same Legendary Pokémon as the Moltres previously discovered in other regions. It has a haughty personality and conducts itself calmly, according to its own whims.


Pokémon Sword Expansion Pass and Pokémon Shield Expansion Pass Updates!