16th Tetris 99 Grand Prix Announced

The 16th Tetris 99 Grand Prix sees the return of Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Luigi’s Mansion 3, and Ring Fit Adventure themes…

Animal Crossing: New Horizons theme

Tetris 99‘s 16th Grand Prix (known as Maximus Cup in North America and Teto 1 Cup in Japan) event runs from August 14 at 16:00 JST (00:00 PT) until 15:59 JST (23:59 PT) on August 23 (August 22 PT). To participate, you’ll need to be a Nintendo Switch Online member and play the Tetris 99 online mode during the event period. You’ll earn event points based on your placement in each match. Once you’ve accumulated a total of 50 event points, a new theme will unlock, featuring art, music and Tetrimino designs inspired by Animal Crossing: New Horizons, Luigi’s Mansion 3, or Ring Fit Adventure!

Luigi’s Mansion 3 theme

Round 1 (from August 14~17) is for the Animal Crossing: New Horizons theme, Round 2 (from August 17~20) is for the Luigi’s Mansion 3, and Round 3 (from August 20~23) is for the Ring Fit Adventure theme. Event points for the 16th Tetris 99 Grand Prix are 100 points for 1st place, 50 points for 2nd place, 30 points for 3rd place, 20 points for 4th~10th place, 15 points for 11th~30th place, 10 points for 31st~50th place, 5 points for 51st~90th place, and 1 point for 91st ~99th place. So one victory or just participate 50 times in order to obtain a theme! Purchase the packaged version of Tetris 99 at this link.

Ring Fit Adventure theme