Tetris 99 × Paper Mario: The Origami King

The 15th Tetris 99 Grand Prix takes place this weekend where scoring 100 event points will unlock a Paper Mario: The Origami King theme.

The Tetris 99 15th Grand Prix (known as Maximus Cup in North America and Teto 1 Cup in Japan) event runs from July 31 at 16:00 JST (00:00 PT) until 15:59 JST (23:59 PT) on August 4 (August 3 PT). To participate, you’ll need to be a Nintendo Switch Online member and play the Tetris 99 online mode during the event period. You’ll earn event points based on your placement in each match. Once you’ve accumulated a total of 100 event points, a new theme will unlock, featuring art, music and Tetrimino designs inspired by Paper Mario: The Origami King!

Event points for the 15th Tetris 99 Grand Prix are 100 points for 1st place, 50 points for 2nd place, 30 points for 3rd place, 20 points for 4th~10th place, 15 points for 11th~30th place, 10 points for 31st~50th place, 5 points for 51st~90th place, and 1 point for 91st ~99th place. So one victory or just participate 100 times in order to obtain the theme! Purchase the packaged version, which recently rereleased in Japan, of Tetris 99 at this link. Check out the Tetris 99 gameplay trailer featuring the Paper Mario: The Origami King theme below…


Tetris 99 – 15th MAXIMUS CUP Gameplay Trailer – Nintendo Switch