Chicken vs. Egg Splatfest

Chicken vs. Egg Splatfest Returns

Nintendo have announced the return of the Chicken vs. the Egg Splatfest with the 48 hour event scheduled to begin next month…

Splatoon 2 3rd anniversary

Today (July 21) is the third anniversary of Splatoon 2, with the above new art shared by Nintendo in a thank you to everyone for playing and supporting the game! Players can also take another crack at the classic conundrum of which came first: the chicken or the egg and get ready to pick a side when this 48-hour Splatfest begins on August 21 at 15:00 PT, 18:00 ET, 23:00 BST, 00:00 CET, and on August 22 at 07:00 JST. The original Chicken vs. Egg Splatfest took place in North America & Oceania and Europe in March 2018 with Chicken winning. Two more bonus Splatfests will also be arriving before the end of March 2021!

Splatoon 2 Ikasu Summer Postcard Collection

New My Nintendo rewards were also announced for Japan with the Splatoon 2 Ikasu Summer Postcard Collection (pictured above) which are redeemable at the My Nintendo Store for 400 Platinum Points and ¥550 domestic shipping required if the total number of goods ordered are less than ¥5,500 (not including download software). The full list of Japanese rewards are posted here. The online My Nintendo Store will also be selling the CROSSING SPLATOON collection (pictured below) which was previously only available at the Nintendo TOKYO store in Shibuya Parco (see this post and this post for more details).

CROSSING SPLATOON

In other Splatoon 2 news: Version 5.3.0 of the game is scheduled to arrive on August 19 and which is intended to adjust the game’s balance along with fixing several bugs. Read about past updated from 2020 with the Version 5.1.0 update at this post, the Version 5.2.0 update at this post, the minor Version 5.2.1 update at this post, and the most recent Version 5.2.2 update at this post. No more major updates are currently planned for the game, but check back for the full patch notes for next month’s 5.3.0 update, for the Chicken vs. the Egg Splatfest results, and for details of the other two upcoming Splatfest events!