2nd Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Online Challenge

2nd Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Online Challenge

Nintendo have announced that the 2nd Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Online Challenge finals will finally take place this coming weekend.

2nd Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Online Challenge

The 2nd Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Online Challenge originally took place in March with the finals delayed due to the coronavirus pandemic. A new date has finally been announced (Saturday, July 18) where the top challengers who scored highest in the event will meet in a tournament format from the comfort of their own homes! The event will be broadcast on YouTube Live and OPENREC.tv from 18:00 JST. Live commentary will be handled by Shohei Taguchi and 9B.

Shohei Taguchi and 9B

Participating in the 2nd Super Smash Bros. Ultimate Online Challenge finals are the eight top challengers from the 2nd Online Challenge held on Sunday, March 15 and sees Showers vs. Alice, Zaki vs. Rikuya, Kameme vs. Rentom and Suu vs. Konbu competing in the quarter final match-ups.

All of the competitors each scored 27,000 or more points in the qualifying rounds (starting from 15,000) and you can view the top 100 players at this page. The final tournament is two wins ahead of each match. Unlike in the qualifying rounds, players will have to fight with a stock of 3 and a time limit of 5 minutes. The stage is randomly selected from the ones below.


The final results to be added to this page on the day. Global times are 02:00 PT, 05:00 ET, 10:00 BST, 11: CET, and 18:00 JST. Top image thanks to そろか. Edit: the event was won by Alice! Check out the full video below…